May 15, 2012

Three Fountains Abbey

Three Fountains Abbey is a Roman cattolic abbey in Rome currently held by Trappist Fathers of Cistercian Order. Belonging to their monastery are three separate churches. 
The first, the Church of St. Paul of Three Fountains, was raised on the spot where St. Paul was beheaded by order of Emperor Nero. Legend accounts for three springs (fontane) with the assertion that, when severed from Paul's body, his head bounced and struck the earth in three different places, from which fountain sprang up. These still flow and are located in the sanctuary.
The second church, dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary under the tittle "Our Lady of Martyrs", was built over the relics of Saint Zeno and his 10.203 legionaries, who were martyred at the order of Emperor Diocletian in 299. In this church is the altar Scala Coeli (ladder to heaven) from which the church receives its present name.
Third are the church and monastery dedicated to Saints Vincent and Anastasius built by Pope Honorius I in 626 and given to the Benedictines. They were to care for the two older sanctuarie, as well as their own church

No comments:

Post a Comment